Betting on the UEFA Euro Championship

The UEFA Euro Championship, more commonly known as the Euros, is a pan-European tournament held to determine the continental champion of Europe. The tournament was first played in 1960 with just four teams competing. In 2020, 24 nations will compete in a tournament that will see teams playing in stadiums across the length and breadth or Europe.

At Betway, you can bet on all UEFA Euro Championship games from the qualifiers to the finals. We offer an exciting selection of betting types including a number of outright tournament betting options. Additionally, you can bet on the action as it unfolds with our Live Betting option.

How to bet on the Euros:

  • Log into your account and click on the Football icon
  • In the Choose League dropdown, select International and then Euros 2020*
  • Select the game and betting type you wish to bet on
  • Complete your Betslip and click Bet Now

*The Euros 2020 will only be available on the website once the tournament’s draw has been finalised.

Format of the UEFA Euro Championship

The new format of the UEFA Euro Championship was introduced in 2016 after the teams competing in the tournament was increased to 24. Teams are now drawn into six groups of four. Every team in each group then faces every other team in the group once. The top two teams from each group automatically qualify for the round of 16. An additional four round of 16 qualification spots are awarded to the top third-place finishers from the group stage. Once the tournament enters the knockout stage, teams progress from the round of 16, to the quarter finals, the semi-finals and lastly the finals.

The 2020 Euros will be retain the same format but will forgo a centralised host of the tournament. Instead, in celebration of the tournament’s 60th anniversary the 2020 Euros will be held in stadiums across Europe.

History of the UEFA Euro Championship

In 1927 Henri Delaunay, the then secretary general of the French Football Federation proposed the idea of a pan-European football tournament. In 1958, three years after Delaunay’s death, plans for the first European football tournament began. In 1960, the first UEFA Euro Championship was hosted in France with the winner’s, the Soviet Union receiving the Henri Delaunay Trophy in honour of the man who first proposed a meeting of Europe’s football giants.

The first UEFA Euro Championship featured just four teams: the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia, France and Yugoslavia. The tournament would remain unchanged through the 1960s and 70s with Spain, Italy, West Germany and Czechoslovakia securing the next four Euros respectively. By 1980, the tournament double the number of qualifications spots to 8. The 1980 tournament was also the first Euros that England competed in. The number of teams competing in the Euros would again double in 1996 to 16 teams and then again in 2016 to 24 teams.

Teams and Players who dominated the Euros

Over nearly 60 years, 15 separate UEFA Euro Championships have been hosted across Europe. The tournament has seen 10 countries win the Henri Delaunay Trophy with Germany and Spain being the most successful teams of all time with three wins a piece. France are the only other team to have won more than one tournament taking top honours in 1984 and 2000. Germany and Russia are the tournament’s most successful runners-up securing three second-place finishes each.

In the 1984 UEFA Euro Championship, Michel Platini scored 10 goals in five games included two hat-tricks. With this staggering performance Platini became the highest scoring player in the tournament’s history. Despite the 1984 tournament being the only one Platini would ever play in, he remains the UEFA Euro Championship’s highest goal scorer of all time. Cristiano Ronaldo is a single goal behind Platini with nine goals scored over four separate tournaments.